Author [Niels Bohr] J. R. Nielsen and D. Favrholdt and others (eds.) Niels Bohr. Collected works. Volumes. 1-10.
Published 1972-1998
Item ID 54354
(Excl. 9% VAT)
Amsterdam, Elsevier Science Publishers, 1972-1998. 4to (26.0 x 18.8 cm). 6,662 pp.; numerous figures, mathematical formulae, photographs and an index in each book. Uniform gilt-lettered black cloth. Niels Bohr is perhaps, together with Einstein, the most important physicist of the 20th century. His contributions to science remain of fundamental importance. His collected works consist of the following: Volume 1: Early work (1905-1911) by J.R. Nielsen; Vol. 2: Work on Atomic Physics (1912-1917) by U. Hoyer; Vol. 3: The Correspondence Principle by J.R. Nielsen; Vol 4: The Periodic System (1920-1923) by J.R. Nielsen; Vol. 5: The Emergence of Quantum Mechanics (Mainly 1924-1926) by K. Stolzenburg; Vol. 6: Foundation of Quantum Physics I (1926-1932); Vol. 7: Foundation of Quantum Physics II (1933-1958) by J. Kalckar; Vol. 8: The Penetration of Charged Particles Through Matter (1912-1954) by J. Thorsen; Vol. 9: Nuclear Physics (1929-1952) by R. Peierls; Vol. 10. ( Complementarity Beyond Physics (1928-1962) by R. Favrholdt. The ten volumes were not published in chronological order. The first volume is in the first edition. The non-scientific volumes 11 The political arena (1934-1961) , and 12 Popularization and people (1911-1962) are not included. Several printed errata leaves are loosely inserted. Small stamp (deaccessioned) on title pages, except in volumes 1 and 4, which have a small stamp on the front free endpaper recto, and clean title pages; some faint remains of removed paper label on a few spines, otherwise as new. The complete Bohr on physics